The Graduate Council is the policy-making body for graduate studies at the campus level. The Council is a representative body composed of full-time regular graduate or doctoral faculty members (one each) elected by each school offering graduate programs and one representative from the UMKC library. There is also a student representative, elected by the Graduate Student Council.

The College of Arts and Sciences elects three members, one from each of the following divisions: natural and physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Members serve three (3) year terms. In addition, the Chancellor appoints five members; one from each of the following areas of research endeavor: Physical, Mathematical, and Computer Sciences; Biological and Chemical Sciences; Social and Behavioral Sciences; Humanities and Arts; and Administrative and Information Sciences. The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies serves as chair of the Council.

The Graduate Council speaks for faculty on issues related to all graduate programs except the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Program. The Graduate Council consults with the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Executive Committee about areas in which the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. intersects with other graduate programs.

Graduate Council Responsibilities:

• Confirms academic unit-specific criteria for membership in the UM Doctoral Faculty and UMKC Graduate Faculty.

• Upon the recommendation of the academic units, appoints and reappoints Graduate Professorships and recommends members for the Doctoral Faculty.

• Monitors the quality of graduate programs other than the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Program using periodic reviews based on reports from existing bodies, councils or committees.

• Recommends new graduate programs and graduate program reduction/termination.

• Reviews such other policy matters as are referred to it, for example, major curriculum changes.


Graduate Council Meeting Dates

Council meeting time will be 1:00 – 2:30 pm. (Generally the third Friday of the month).

September 18, 2020

October 16, 2020

November 20, 2020

No meeting in December, Graduate Council Members are encouraged to attend the midyear commencement.

January 29, 2021

February 19, 2021

March 19, 2021

April 16, 2021

2020-21 Graduate Council

Graduate Council Minutes

Graduate Council Members

Academic Unit Term Expires Faculty/Divisional Representative Phone
A&S Humanities 2022 Whitney Terrell (English Lang & Lit) 2765
A&S Sciences 2021 Paul Rulis (Physics) 5945
A&S Social Sciences 2022 Lori Sexton (Criminal Justice & Criminology) 2751
Conservatory of Music 2020 Andrew Granade 2937
School of Computing and Engineering 2022 Sejung Song 5661
School of Biological Sciences 2022 Xiaolan Yao 2330
School of Management 2022 Jae Jung 5632
School of Dentistry   Mary Walker 2825
School of Education 2023 Loyce Caruthers  ####
School of Law   Jeff Thomas 2378
School of Nursing 2021 Carol Schmer 1713
School of Pharmacy 2021 Bi-Botti Youan 2410
School of Medicine 2021 Julie Banderas 5249


Graduate Council Members At-Large

Academic Unit Term Expires Faculty/Divisional Representative Phone
Physical/Mathematical Science 2022 Greg King 2350
Biological/Chemical Science 2021 Kathleen Kilway 2289
Social/Behavioral Science 2022 Kimberly Langrehr (Counseling Psych) 2487
Humanities/Arts 2023 Alison DeSimone (Conservatory) 2354
Administrative/Info. Science 2023 Charles Murnieks (Bloch School) 2201

Graduate Council Ex-Officio Members


Academic Unit Term Expires Faculty/Divisional Representative Contact
Dean, School of Graduate Studies   Dr. Chris Liu (Chair) 235-1301
University Libraries   Scott Curtis 235-2225
Administrative Liaison   Nancy Hoover 235-1731
Graduate Student Council appointed student representative   Amir Baratijourabi

Graduate Council Subcommittees

Humanities Social Science Natural Science
Alison DeSimone
Andrew Granade
Whitney Terrell 
Jae Jung
Kimberly Langrehr
Charles Murnieks
Carol Schmer
Lori Sexton
Jeff Thomas
Julie Banderas
Kathleen Kilway
Greg King
Paul Rulis
Sejun Song
Mary Walker
Xiaolan Yao
Bi-Botti Youan