The Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Executive Committee is the policy making body for Interdisciplinary Ph.D. studies at the campus level. The Committee is a representative body composed of the Coordinators of the disciplines participating in the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program. 

Committee Meeting Times

Meetings are held approximately once per semester, and as necessary otherwise. These dates and times, once determined, will be posted.

  • Official meeting – Thursday, October 3, 2019
  • Working meeting – Thursday, November 7, 2019
  • Official and Working meeting – Thursday, February 13, 2020

Minutes from past meetings.

Coordinator Policy

2020-21 Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Executive Committee

DisciplineCoordinatorPhone NumberEmailTerm Expires
Biomedical and Health InformaticsDr. Jenifer Allsworth816-235-1781AllsworthJ@umkc.eduMay 2021
Cell Biology and BiophysicsDr. Karen Bame816-235-2243BameK@umkc.eduMay 2021
ChemistryDr. Zhonghua Peng816-235-2288PengZ@umkc.eduMay 2021
Computer Networking and Communication SystemsDr. Sejun Song816-235-5661SongSej@umkc.eduMay 2021
Computer ScienceDr. Yugyung Lee816-235-5932LeeYu@umkc.eduMay 2021
Curriculum and InstructionDr. Candace Schlein816-235-5754SchleinC@umkc.eduMay 2021
EconomicsDr. Scott Fullwiler816-235-5700ScottF@umkc.eduMay 2022
Educational Leadership, Policy and FoundationsDr. Shirley Marie McCarther816-235-2451McCartherS@umkc.eduMay 2021
Electrical and Computer EngineeringDr. Ahmed Hassan816-235-6219HassanAM@umkc.eduMay 2023
EngineeringDr. Ceki Halmen816-235-1286HalmenC@umkc.eduMay 2021
EnglishDr. John Barton816-235-2764BartonJC@umkc.eduMay 2022
GeosciencesDr. Fengpeng Sun816-235-2973SunF@umkc.eduMay 2022
HistoryDr. Matthew Osborn816-235-5704OsbornMW@umkc.eduMay 2021
Humanities ConsortiumDr. Larson Powell816-235-1316PowellLar@umkc.eduMay 2021
MathematicsDr. Noah Rhee816-235-2854RheeN@umkc.eduMay 2022
Molecular Biology and BiochemistryDr. Karen Bame816-235-2243BameK@umkc.eduMay 2021
Music EducationDr. Joseph Parisi816-235-2919ParisiJo@umkc.eduMay 2021
Oral and Craniofacial SciencesDr. Mary Walker816-235-2825WalkerMP@umkc.eduMay 2021
Pharmaceutical SciencesDr. Kun Cheng 816-235-2425ChengKun@umkc.eduMay 2021
PharmacologyDr. Hari Bhat816-235-5903BhatH@umkc.eduMay 2021
PhysicsDrs. Paul Rulis and Mark Brodwin816-235-5945 and 816-235-2508RulisP@umkc.edu and BrodwinM@umkc.eduMay 2021
Public Affairs and AdministrationDr. Arif Ahmed816-235-2319AhmedAr@umkc.eduMay 2021
Social Science Consortium

Committee Responsibilities

Committee Bylaws

• Monitors and reviews goals of the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program and recommends major changes in goals, policies and procedures to the Doctoral Faculty for final approval.

• Monitors the quality of the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program and its implementation by means of periodic reviews based on reports from existing bodies, councils, committees, and external reviewers.

• Recommends to the Graduate Council and Research Board, policies and criteria concerning internal funding of research, research-related travel, and all other matters.

• Reviews other policy matters as required.